A Brief Narrative on the Perils of Sleeping in a 92 Degree Room…

Just kidding…I’m not going to write you a brief narrative; I just thought that was a pretty bitchin’ title. Long story short: it seriously blows. I wake up in a pool of sweat every morning and I have to shower about three times a day just to keep my skin from developing enough oil to run a small car. It’s miserable, but we’ll leave it at that. When I go to work each day, my job is to write (though it’s been mainly researching as of late), so I don’t necessary feel like putting in an hour of effort to make a cool column-esque account of how sweaty my ass gets in the night. So, no narrative.

So I don’t know what’s gotten into me. I’m a lot more tired than I usually am (which translates to: ridiculously tired) for some reason and I’m not even working grueling hours like my first two weeks here. I sort of got into a different routine over the past week; one that consisted of going to work, getting dinner, napping, going to the gym and watching Parks and Recreation (or a slew of other Netflix-streaming shows) and going to bed. Initially, I’d fit in the “update-your-blog-so-Grandma-doesn’t-think-you’re-dead” in the slot that Netflix now occupies, but I made it a point to get back on the horse. I’ve been here for over a month now and as of a week ago, I can fully say that I’ve completely adjusted and acclimated to NYC. Though I’m just an intern, my neck hairs still perk up a bit every now and then when I remember that I’m only 19 and I’m here doing what I’ve wanted to do since I was 12.

That being said, I’m getting close to the point where I’m ready to head back west. I’m not really homesick, per se, but I miss having no responsibility at all. I’m a 19-year-old fratboy that — all spring semester — subconsciously daydreamed of a summer consisting solely of being poolside by day and inebriated by night. I’m very aware that a massive handful of people would switch places with me in a heartbeat, but it’s become increasingly obvious to me that I’m still a kid.Β  The fact that I have a farmer’s tan during July bothers the shit out of me. After wearing dress clothes all day, I could probably well up in awe at the sheer comfort of a t-shirt and shorts — regular summer attire for a kid my age.Β  I was talking to my mom about all of this last night and told her “there’s no way in hell I could do a full-time job like this year-round, yet. I wouldn’t be able to take it.” I really shouldn’t be able to, though; I can’t even legally drink a beer yet.

Saw the Red Bulls/DC United game Saturday...was pretty awesome.

So onto work:

As I mentioned earlier, the hours haven’t been as strenuous over the past week, but the work has been. I haven’t been published in a while (will change by the end of this week) because I’ve been working with Saki on “the secret story” — that’s what I’m going to call it from now on because I feel like I’m overclarifying its confidentiality each post…If you don’t know what I’m talking about, read my previous stuff and familiarize yourself. Since we essentially opened up Pandora’s Box with this mofo, it’s been a constant stream of google-ing shit and making phone calls to tee everything up. The problem is once we talk to someone new, we get an entirely new angle for the story. I told Saki today that I’m really freaking glad that I’m not the one who has to write this thing (It’s going to be a 10,000 word piece and we’re not even ready to talk to our “dangerous” sources. This thing’s gonna press in August at the earliest) because he’s going to have to put the reader in some vantage point where they can easily analyze about 15 different narratives. That’s going to be rough, but it’s gonna be a lot of research pretty much until the day I leave.

Tim took us off Patch.com-collaboration-duty for the past week because we were working on the secret story, but as of today, we’re back at it. With my past few stories, Saki would gut the draft and walk me through its revision, which has helped a lot in clearing up my writing. Hopefully I’ve adapted enough to his approved style to the point where I’ll be able to take on some of these incoming Patch stories essentially by myself. When that happens, that means I get the big bylines πŸ™‚ Hopefully if I get another one, I’ll be able to get a mugshot on there. I’ve become friends with one of the photographers, Damon, who’s working with me to film and shoot my story on solutions to the power-struggle between skateboarders and cops. Hopefully he’ll be able to get that mugshot taken care of for me.

I’ve got a long couple days ahead of me though, so once again, don’t expect this thing to be getting updated each night. This weekend should be a fun one, Damon and I might be going to Jersey City on Saturday to grab some footage/interviews for the skateboarding story and I’m planning on heading up to Long Island on Sunday to see Taking Back Sunday play in their hometown record store. Apparently I have to get there around 8 AM, but I haven’t seen a concert all summer so it’ll be worth it. Depending on how much I rake in on this Friday’s paycheck, I’ll probably be seeing them at the Best Buy Theater Sunday night. It sold out pretty fast and the cheapest tickets I’ve seen are around $70, but like I said: I haven’t seen a concert here yet and summer is all about concerts.

I can’t think of anything else to fill you in on. Shout out to all my Sigma Nu brothers who are going to be getting rowdy Thursday night for Summer Chapter. I’m really bummed out that I’m going to miss it. Crush brews for me, bros (and if anybody bumps me out of a room during the room draft, I’m going to fight them on move-in day)!

Classic picture from the early days of pledgeship. Miss all you sons of bitches...

All the best
AJ

P.S. I was late on the pictures for the last post. They’re up now.

Leave a Reply

