Duane Reade sells the shittiest umbrellas EVER

Seriously. It was raining today when I went to get lunch and I had to re-open that thing about 45 times and I looked like an idiot. Bring your own umbrella if you ever come here, don’t buy one in the city. I already dedicated a post to umbrella-complaints like two weeks ago so I’ll move on.

So the story that I’ve been talking about — basically since my first day — FINALLY GOT PUBLISHED. Thank god. I’ve read so much about this subject and interviewed so many people about it in the past week. I could probably go on CNN and discuss it live on camera and what not.

I know, I'm going to make sure I have a mugshot next week

 Read it here.

I’m just glad we finally got this thing out. It was an interesting one, people are so passionate in Illinois about the passing of this law, and on the other hand, people in L.A. are either absolutely terrified or incredibly furious. We pretty much dug it out of absolutely nothing, too. No other large publications had given it much attention, including the Chicago Tribune, which just ran like one or two small features about it. I honestly believe the California ordinance is going to get a lot of national intention, because it’s going to put so many people on the streets that, quite frankly, can’t be on the streets.

There is one thing I would like to clarify, though. If you know me, I’m never one to backtrack the things I say; I usually say things and that’s that. I’m worried about how some of this stuff came out though, particularly with the phrasing in this article. I would never write a formalized response to this, because that’s stupid, but I want to make damn sure my friends and family know this: we were absolutely NOT saying that people in California have any problem with anyone that has a developmental, physical or mental disability. I got some really heated emails with people saying that we were blaming the ordinance’s origin on (non-existent)drug use, fighting and general mischief of the developmentally disabled. That’s not what it was. The ordinance stemmed from complaints about “Sober Living” group home residents causing a whole lot of problems. We probably could have phrased a few things better, but I’m not at all apologizing for everything. I’m simply clarifying something so the people closest to me don’t misread it like a lot of people have. I spent so much time and effort on this story because I saw the pure, raw injustice that lies within that California ordinance’s — arguably unintended — intention. This thing is going to put so many people with serious disabilities on the streets in a State that is notorious for its shortcomings when it comes to lending a hand to those short on chips.

That’s all I have on that. Saki and I discussed a new way of how we’re going to approach our story-gathering, so I’m expecting our upcoming stories to step up in quality. I’m proud of what we’ve done so far, but it’s going to get better. I’m very excited about that.

I got moved to a new desk, though. It kind of sucks because I sat next to Saki and we could work on stories so much easier that way, but I have my own little name-tag on this one and it’s an actual desk, rather than a slot on a long table. I lucked out MASSIVELY. But, I’m low man on the totem pole, so I’m not going to get too used to it. Once a new reporter comes in, I’m probably going to get the boot.

I’m cool with that though. I’m just happy to be here.

Yankees game with my boy Greg (pledging Sigma Nu next year, hung out with us a ton this past year) tomorrow night, in a suite. It’s gonna be beyond dope. Sorry for no pics this time, I’ll get a few tomorrow.

All the best
AJ

Leave a Reply

