“42-inch Heavy Duty Parasol: $12.99”

It’s probably been about 6 or 7 years since I’ve held an umbrella. They’re harder to control than you’d expect, especially in the wind.

After spending my first night walking around the area to the north of my apartment (Midtown), I decided that I’d spend a little bit of the day looking around the actual Greenwich Village and NoHo/SoHo areas. I woke up around noon and looked up some cool stores and areas that I might want to check out. Having made the mistake of walking around in Sperry’s (these ones are the dressier looking ones with smaller soles) the night before, I laced on a pair of gym shoes and walked around. There was a light drizzle and it was fairly cold by my standards, but it felt amazing considering the oppressive Kansan heat that I had just come from.

I made my way down pretty far, almost down to lower Manhattan, before I started to cut back over to Broadway, which I could take home. Around that time, that light drizzle turned into a torrential downpour. I was getting pummeled by raindrops before I made my way to a Duane Reade. I bought a 12 dollar umbrella (the cheapest they had) and upon opening it in the street, I had to fix it with every gust of wind that would blow it backwards.

“Make sure you get a good umbrella before it actually rains, because they mark the prices up. And don’t buy one at a convenience store either… ” – My mom on the way to KCI a few days ago…

I eventually made it back to the apartment, but I’m going to need to get a better umbrella soon. I start work tomorrow.

All the best
AJ

Leave a Reply

