Before you start your assumptions…

I always viewed “bloggers” and other people that took the time to type out their most-of-the-time meaningless thoughts on their own “website” as self-righteous morons. As much as I don’t want to come off as one of those, I know I’m going to. I just figured that I’d lay down that little disclaimer to let you know that I do realize what having this site makes me look like. Quite frankly, though, I don’t care.

Here’s why I’m starting a blog (my stomach just turned as I re-read that.)

Reason One

A few weeks ago, I officially accepted an internship offer with the Huffington Post in New York City. This entails me moving to Lower Manhattan and quickly adapting to big-city life while running errands, editing, doing general dirty work and (hopefully) writing for a large publication. I’m from south Kansas City and I’m about to spend my summer in the third largest city in the world.

In the past few months, as I’ve told my friends and family of the internship, I’ve had the “you need to keep in touch and tell us what you’re doing!” conversation ad nauseam. Though I have a pretty reasonable cell phone plan and I’m all over Facebook and Twitter (@AJBARBROSA), I don’t really think that I’m going to have much time to call every relative and friend I have to keep them up to date.  Instead, hopefully reading this will sufficiently quench the appetites of anyone who might want to know how I’m doing. In addition to that, if I happen to stumble upon any Kodak moments throughout my travels, I’ll try and share them with whoever reads this.

Reason Two

If I had a penny for every time that I’ve been told, “The world of journalism is changing,” I wouldn’t have to worry about student loans and I’d probably have bought the Lakers by now. I’ll spare you the unnecessary reiteration, but the J-game no longer consists of solely writing stories that will be crammed onto the inky sheets of paper you find at the foot of your driveway. There’s all kind of funky new stuff like Podcasts, Blogs and Tweets now. As a journalism student that’s going to be entering this cutthroat world of story-telling in the next few years, I figured it’s about time for me to start trying to adapt.

Plus, as long as I keep this thing clean, I can use it on resumes. That’s how much journalism has changed: chronicling my every thought now suffices for work experience. It’s a lot better than explaining what I did as a Team Member at the Leawood Cold Stone Creamery, that’s for sure.

Reason Three

I’ll be honest. I’m going to be a journalist, and after I pay my dues, I’m going to be a columnist. I ruffled feathers and sought to provoke thought amongst the Blue Valley TigerPrint readership and I plan on continuing to do so at a professional level. Having missed both application dates for the University Daily Kansan this past year, the only writings I composed were synthesis and analysis papers in English. Needless to say, I’m a bit out of practice when it comes to actually writing in a non-academic format.

This blog gives me a chance to practice. As nerdy and pathetic as it sounds, an aspiring journalist keeping a blog is conceptually equal to a baseball player hitting the batting cages.

 

So that’s “why”. Hopefully that does it for you, and if you come to enjoy hearing me talk, feel free to read this as the days progress. If you don’t, I promise I won’t hold it against you.

As I mentioned from the start, I understand.

All the best
AJ Barbosa

One thought on “Before you start your assumptions…

  1. Nice job son. Sometimes we “have to do” a few things we’re not completely excited about, but you do it because it gets you to where you want to go. And who you want to be. Be happy you’ve found something you like and somebody is actually paying you to do it. You’re damn good. Have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

